top of page
Search
  • bruffin8

LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERY DAY



I feel it is important to read different sources because it is important to get different view-points in society. Some sources may be more liberal, some sources may be more conservative, and some may be neutral. My top 5 sources that I often go to follow what is going on in the world are, USA Today, NPR, New York Post, The New York Times, and CNN.


USA Today

Since I have a learning difference, and love to color code my work to help me break up categories or use color coding as a method to help me study vocabulary words, I often look at USA Today. The newspaper’s website has more visual content than any of the other newspaper websites. USA Today divides their sections by colors, so it is simple and easy to comprehend the different topics they cover. I love how the top photo is a graphic, so it moves and grabs your attention to whatever the top story is in the world. I find that the colors and story headlines grab my attention, but also the articles are not opinion-based articles, which means that they don’t have too much detail in them. Rather, the article gets straight to the point, which I find it is easier to understand and follow.


NPR

Somedays I find that I don’t want to read an article, or I am in a rush, or in the car and want to listen to the news instead of reading an article. This is why I use NPR because it is a place where I can access live radio, as well as listen to recordings on what is happening in the world. I feel that their strength is mainly radio oriented and podcast oriented for the people in the world who want to listen to an article instead of reading the article. It shows visual polls and ways that I can donate to help our nation. The website has a very simple masthead. NPR is great to listen to podcasts and shows, as well as to find more of an in-depth opinion-based topic. What is so convenient about NPR is that almost every article I see has a button that I can press and listen to a live radio right on their website.


The New York Post

I use The New York Post as a way to read up on what is going on in New York because I was born and raised in New York City and most of my family lives there. Page six is my go-to section because I like to read the gossip and drama about celebrities and stars. If I wanted to get quick news or read for fun, The New York Post is my first source. I feel that this kind of newspaper is different from the rest because of its themes and the genres that the journalists write about. It is a pop-culture news source, so it is more appreciated by my generation. The headlines are on top of the visuals with videos included, and this is a way to grab my attention. I usually look at this newspaper website on my phone because I have the app downloaded. I try to read The New York Post often considering the recent events that have been happening in the city.


The New York Times

The New York Times is set up very much like a standard newspaper because of it's organization. A main masthead and it is divided into three sections with the main news headline in the middle, and the opinion articles on the right. The traditional categories such as Food, Books, Travel, and Sports sections have really good opinion-based content. This newspaper has a column for the editor’s and journalists' favorite picks and their inside scoop about the day’s news. The New York Times has more visuals, maps, and charts which helps with the more visual aspect of a newspaper.


CNN

In this newspaper website, there are different subheadings. It is divided into three main stories about what is going on in the nation, such as Hurricane Laura, the increase in the American unemployment rate, and the death of Jacob Blake. CNN is more organized because of its main headlines and within those headlines are subheads. The website has less images and visuals but more in-depth articles about what is going on in the world. It seems to have more articles on travel restrictions, and they mostly dedicate their articles to topics such as following the procedures of COVID Restrictions and covering unprecedented moments in sports. As a Sports Media major, it is a perfect way to read up on what is going on in sports in our nation. This website is less visually structured than the others.



I have found many differences between these sources, but all of these websites still provide topics that inform the reader on entertainment, politics, and more. My favorite source is NPR because of its convenience. As a student, I can listen to it on the way to class. On the other hand, the color coding of USA Today makes it visually pleasing and easy to follow.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page